Have you been arrested for a DUI in Palm Beach County, Florida?
Looking for a West Palm Beach DUI Lawyer? Florida, like most states, heavily regulates the consumption of alcohol and the operation of motor vehicles, including cars, motorcycles or mopeds. Anyone who is found to be operating a motor vehicle over the legal limit in Florida can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). A DUI is a serious offense that can result in jail time, a substantial fine, mandatory community service, as well as the loss of your driver’s license for six months for a first offense. If you are convicted of a DUI, then your very ability to get to work, take your kids to schools or even go to the grocery store for a gallon of milk can be seriously jeopardized. If you have been charged with a DUI or any other alcohol offense in Palm Beach County, contact experienced West Palm Beach criminal defense attorney Bryan Raymond today. Bryan offers aggressive, experienced representation.
Florida’s DUI Laws
Florida’s legal limit for operating a motor vehicle is a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of under 0.08. If some operates a motor vehicle and is pulled over by a police officer and found to have a BAC over the permissible level, this constitutes a violation of Florida law and can result in a fine between $500 and $1,000, a term of imprisonment of up to six months, a mandatory 50 hours of community service and suspension of the individual’s driver’s license for 180 days, with increased fines if the driver’s BAC was 0.15 or greater or there was a minor in the vehicle. As a person gets additional DUI convictions, the criminal penalties for each subsequent conviction become increasingly severe, with the amount of the fines, the terms of imprisonment and the period for which the motorist’ driver’s license is suspended lengthening.
Florida’s Felony DUI Laws
If a driver obtains enough DUI convictions within a certain period of time, then subsequent DUI convictions are treated as felonies for purposes of the potential sentences the individual faces. A person is charged with a felony if he or she is convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth DUI period. Anyone convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent DUI commits a Third Degree Felony, which means potential punishments of a fine of up to $5,000 and up to 5 years imprisonment. Furthermore, regardless of a motorist’s past DUI convictions, if he or she causes serious bodily injury to another person while operating a car under the influence, then that person can be convicted of a felony DUI.
If You Have Been Arrested or Charged with Driving Under the Influence or Any Other Alcohol Crime in Palm Beach County, Contact Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney Bryan Raymond Today
The consequences of a conviction for a DUI or other alcohol offense in Florida can be serious. Not only is there the possibility that an individual can go to prison or pay thousands of dollars in fines, but the loss of the ability to drive a car can be a crippling blow in an area of the country where a car and driver’s license is a virtual necessity to get around. Therefore, if you have been arrested or charged with a DUI in Palm Beach County, it is imperative that you secure an aggressive, experienced attorney who will stop at nothing to ensure that you are acquitted of the DUI with which you have been charged. Bryan Raymond is an experienced criminal defense attorney who has been representing those charged with DUI and other alcohol offenses in Florida for over 20 years. Contact Bryan today at (561) 681-1115 or fill out our consultation form if you have been arrested or charged with a DUI or another alcohol offense in Palm Beach County.